Turkmenbaijan - Factbook

  • Capital and largest city: Füzüli
    Official languages: Turkmenbaijani, Kyrzbek
    Ethnic groups: Turkmenbaijanis (89%), Kyrzbeks (7%), Australians (2%), Others (1%)
    Demonym: Turkmenbaijani

    Governement: Federal parliamentary republic
    President: Vacant (ad-interim Leyla Mahribayeva, chairman of the National Congress)
    Chairman of the National Congress: Leyla Mahribayeva (HI - Movement for Renewal)
    Legislature: National Congress

    Turkestan ASSR - 30 April 1918
    Turkmen SSR - 30 May 1925
    Turkmenistan - 27 October 1991
    Declared independance - 24 July 2001
    Recognized - 1 January 2002

    Population: 23 550 000

    GDP: $103.987 Billion (total), $18.771 (per capita)
    Gini: 40.8
    HDI: 0.673 (medium)
    Currency: Euro
    Inflation: 16%
    Poverty rate: 32,07%
    Timezone: + 1
    Drives on the: Right
    Calling code: + 998
    ISO 3166-code: TZ
    Internet TLD: .TZ

  • This post is deleted!

  • Climate

    The Tündqum Desert is one of the driest deserts in the world; some places have an average annual precipitation of only 12 mm (0.47 in). The highest temperature recorded in Arkhamnamabad is 48.0°C (118.4 °F) and Basjrabad, an inland city located on the sides of the Dezor Hills, recorded 51.7 °C (125.1 °F) in July 1983, although this value is unofficial. 50.1 °C (122 °F) is the highest temperature recorded at Dünler National Park, recognized as the highest temperature ever recorded in the whole European Union.

  • Füzüli

    Füzüli is the capital and the largest city of Turkmenbaijan in Southern Europe, situated in the Tündqum Desert and touches the Australian border.
    The Tündqum Canal runs through the city, carrying waters from the Dezor Hills from South to North. Untill 13 June 2018 Füzüli was known as Arkhamnamabad.

    According to estimates of the 2015 Turkmenbaijan census, Füzüli has a population of 4.160.467.

    After exiting the Soviet Union, the city gained many high-rise residential buildings. Modern construction techniques allows high-rise development (mainly 12-storeys) with relatively good protection against earthquakes. Primarily consisting of residential towers, the first floor is typically given a shopping area and a service department. Many of the buildings are made of white marble. The Arch of Europe was dismantled and re-erected in its original form in the south of the capital. Turkmenbaijan Tower, at a height of 211 meters, is the tallest building in the country.

    Füzüli is primarily a government and administrative centre. The business centre of Füzüli is on the Aldin highway. Construction of several ministries and departments, teaching and research and cultural centres is complete. Development of office buildings and public spaces along the avenue continues.

    Other cities:
    Füzüli: 4.160.467
    Äz Monzor: 234 817
    Mary: 166 575
    Daryaguz: 120 991
    Yylyznamabad: 114 680
    Uçmartý: 89 468
    Basjrabad: 73 000
    Qarashy: 64 299
    Suleymana: 57 832

  • President of the State Turkmenbaijan

    Article 79 of the Constitution of Turkmenbaijan gives the status of head of state to the President of the State Turkmenbaijan. He/she is also considered the guardian of the Constitution and the rights and freedoms of those who claim Turkmenbaijani citizenship or residency. The President is the personification of unification of the State Turkmenbaijan when conducting foreign or internal affairs and shall be the main representative when dealing with other nations or international organizations. The President is also entrusted with the safety, prosperity and stability of the country and acts as an intermediary between the bodies of the national government

    Turkmenbaijan has known six presidents and tree presidents ad-interim since the independence of Turkmenistan.

    july 25th 2001- july 23th 2016: Enver Därwäzä (SDH)
    july 24th 2016 - january 2017: Nikolaj Nikola (SDH)
    january 2017 - march 29th 2017: Amos Bahman (SDH) ad-interim
    march 30th 2017 - may 7th 2017: Asuman Baknezarayowa (AIP)
    may 8th 2017 - july 29th 2017: Gülan Burhamayew (SDH) ad-interim
    august 6th 2017 - december 31th 2017: Kader Gurbuzyewa (BS)
    January 1st 2018 - august 31st 2018: Emir Constantini (AXPAT)
    September 1st 2018 - september 14th 2018: Leyla Mahribayewa (HI) ad-interim
    September 14th 2018 - in office: Eren Azmiyew (SDH)

    The President of the State Turkmenbaijan is the Head of the Turkmenbaijani State and the Supreme Commander of the Turkmenbaijani Armed Forces

    The official style is:
    His/Her Excellency - name of the president -, president of the State Turkmenbaijan (Ekselanslari(a) -X-, prezident(a) Türkmenbaycan Dävläti).

  • This post is deleted!

  • State structure and division of powers

    The State Turkmenbaijan has 21 "state services" acting as ministries.

    + State service of Agriculture
    + State service of Communications and Information Technologies 
    + State service of Culture and Tourism
    + State service of Defense
    + State service of Defence Industry
    + State service of Ecology and Natural Resources
    + State service of Economic Development
    + State service of Education
    + State service of Emergency Situations
    + State service of Energy
    + State service of Finance
    + State service of
    Foreign Affairs
    + State service of Healthcare
    + State service of Internal Affairs
    + State service of Justice
    + State service of Labor and Social protection of the population
    + State service of National Security

    + State service of Taxes
    + State service of Transport
    + State service of Youth and Sports
    + State service of Europen Affairs

    + Representative of the Kyrzbeks in Turkmenbaijan; Minister without portfolio

    The State service of "internal affairs" and a service of choice falls under the direct leadership of the president.


    The National Congress can be legally dissolved by the President.
    The current chairperson is Mr Eren Azmiyew (SDH).

    The National Congress is the legislative branch of Turkmenbaijan. Untill March 2017 it had 125 members.
    Today the National Congress has the following structure:

    Seats: 110

    • Government: 56
      SDH (Social Democratic Movement): 18
      YS (Green Socialists): 13
      KP (Communist party): 6
      HI (Movement for Renewal): 17
      SDH-KP (Social Democratic Movement - Communist Party Kyrzbekistan): 2

      Opposition: 54
      AXPAT (European Peoples Party Turkmenbaijan): 24
      DP (Democratic Party): 19
      YeRes (New Republic): 1
      BIRLIKTE (Together): 5
      AIP (Party for European Integration): 5



    The "Mars Dävläti" ("March of the State") is the official anthem of Turkmenbaijan. It is one of the few national anthems that has no official lyrics.
    Mars Dävläti - National anthem Turkmenbaijan


    The national flag of the State Turkmenbaijans a vertical tricolour consisting (left to right) of a  blue, yellow and red column. The blue color is of religious significance to the Turkish peoples of the country, and so symbolizes cultural and ethnic unity; it also represents the endless sky. The yellow color stands for the sun as source of life and energy, exemplifies wealth and plenitude. The red color symbolizes the willpower of the Turkmenbaijani people.

    Untill april 20th 2018 a flag consisting a green field, 3 golden stars and a map of the nation in the center was used.