Mass reform in Poretos!!!!

  • After a cruelling 48 Hours in Parliament with HM Edmund I and his Prime Minister pushing forward a mass of new proposals all have come into effect.

    How does this effect the nation? Here's how:

    Firstly, the largest reforms is how the nation works:
    -The Nation has changed to become a Constitutional Monarchy will all but the final legislative power with the House of the People.
    -Hence the Nation has changed it's name to The Constitutional Monarchy of Poretos and has removed a large amount of unneeded Royal related words have been removed from words associated with the nation.
    -The Emperor is no longer a term associated with the nation after the full merge of all lands under the name instead of the smaller territories together. The Monarch is now either the King of Queen, with the title passing to the first born child regardless of gender, the Monarch remains the head of State ceremoniously.

    • The Head of the Government is now the Lord President, which currently remains with the old Prime Minister Eranmlas Perosta who is now the Head of the PNP - Poretosian National Party, and for the rest of the Reform the Leader of the Opposition will become the Lady Chancellor, the 2nd to the Lord President and Speaker of the Lower House.
    • The Legislative Branch of the Government is now split into two sections, The Upper House, which is full of the Councillors of each of the newly drawn 24 Regions of the Nation, led by the Lord Chancellor and the 2nd is the lower house full of 'People's Speakers' the Members of the Houses of the People from the 436 Districts of the Nation, which debates all matters of law. No Law can pass without the full agreement of both Houses (Except in the case of the Monarchs Approval of Article 27D of the New Constitution for use in an emergency granting powers to the Upper House) and all laws must be given Assent by the Monarch.

    The Government:

    The Structure of HM State Council (executive branch) has been slightly changed:

    Lord/Lady President- Must be an elected Councillor and preferably Leader of the Party with the majority in each house, Leader of the Government - Speaker of the Upper House
    Lord/Lady Chancellor - Must be an elected 'People's Speaker' - Deputy Leader of the Government - Speaker of the Lower House.

    Premier for the State - An Elected Councillor - Responsible for overseeing the Home Department
    Premier for Foreign Affairs - An Elected Councillor - Responsible for Overseeing the Department for Foreign Affairs

    Commissioner for Justice - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Judicial Branch
    Commissioner for Defence - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Defense Branch
    Commissioner for Emergencies - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Emergency Branch
    Commissioner for Local Governments - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Local Government Branch
    Commissioner for Media - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Media Branch
    Commissioner for Education - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Education Branch
    Commissioner for Environment - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Environmental Branch
    Commissioner for Health - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Health Branch
    Commissioner for Social Policy - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Social Policy of the Nation and the Work and Pensions Branch
    Commissioner for Transport - An Elected People's Speaker - Responsible for the Transport Branch

    The Opposition-

    The Opposition Government now have a larger part to play in the Government, they now sit directly opposite the throne of the Speaker of their House in their own (slightly smaller) throne to represent that both have been entrusted by the Monarch to protect and run their nation. Weekly there must now be direct debates between both parties and their government about their policy.

    Minor Parties-

    Minor Parties now get a real role in the Houses of the People, they may now choose to affiliate with either side although remain independent (this means they sit closer to the throne of the leader of the Opposition or Council as they agree more with their policies) or remain completely neutral and sit directly in the centre


    They may do the same as minor parties.

    The Monarch's Royal Prerogative-

    The Monarch's Royal Prerogative includes immunity from taxation; immunity from prosecution; appointment of honours; appointment of the Prime Minister; dismissal of government; dissolution of Parliament and granting the Royal Assent as well as the power of pardon; the Crown not being bound by statue unless the statue implicitly states otherwise; the Crown being the preferred creditor; the power to issue passports, and to regulate the civil service nor limited to the power to ratify and conclude treaties and to declare and conduct war

    More announcements expected to be made after the elections.

Log in to reply

Looks like your connection to NS European Union was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.