The Dominion Of Saint Joseph

  • The Order of Saint Joseph was born in the 13th century during the 8th Crusade against the Islamic powers in the Holy Land under the leadership of Grand Master Ferdinand of Valencia, a Spanish noble from the city of Valencia, the first Grand Master of the Order. After the end of the Crusades, the Order participated in the Reconquista of the Iberian Peninsular. Soon after Spain was unified, in the 15th century, the Order was sent to protect Spanish colonists to a new land in central Europe and to Christianize the indiginous people of the land which is now the Dominion of Saint Joseph. The colonies quickly developed into some of the most properous regions in central Europe. But about a hundred year after the arrival of the first knight and the first colonist, a rift between Spain and the Colonies appeared as the colonists and their leaders, the Knights of St Joseph, felt oppressed by the Spanish Kings and Spain's unbearable demands. In 1720, under the reign of Grand Master Jos? Gonz?lez, the people of the Colonies revolted and and overthrew the last Spanish Overlord and declare independence, gave birth to the current Dominion of Saint Joseph, in December 1742. Since then and until the early 20th century, the Dominion was effectively ruled by the theocracy of the Order of Saint Joseph. However, began in the mid 20th century, the democratic movements have been growing stronger and wider. The result was in 1972, Grand Master Luis Ambrosio had to summoned a secular councils comprised of the leaders of the many dominions in the country, they called it the Dominion Council. The Council chose Master Manolo Garcia as the country's first secular Prime Minister. Elections however, had to wait until 1992 to be first introduced in the Dominion. Since then, the country has been trying to embrace a more open and democratic society and political system.

    Conventional Name: The Dominion of Saint Joseph
    Short Name: St. Joseph
    Motto: God and the People
    Capital: San Jose

    National Language: Spanish, Latin
    Religion: Roman Catholicism (Official Religion) 95%, Judaim 1%, Protestanism 1%, no religion 2%, others 1%
    Literacy: 98%

    Government Type: semi-democracy
    Head of State: Grand Master Bartolom? Alberto Herrera, elected for life by the High Council of the Order of Saint Joseph. Every law must have the signature of the Grand Master to take effect. The Grand Master has the right to sign or decline to sign any law. He also has the right to dissolve the Dominion Council. The Grand Master is the Commander in Cheif of the Military Forces.
    Head of Government Prime Minister Vincente Castro, nominated by the Dominion Council, approved by the Grand Master of the Order of Saint Joseph.
    Legislature: bicameral parliament

    • The High Council of the Order of Saint Joseph, comprises of the Knights, the archbishops and bishops. The Knights are citizens of the Dominion, granted Knighthood by the Grand Master. The archbishops and bishops are appointed by the Pope at Rome. The High Council plays a more ceremonial rather than practical role in the country's politics. The High Council chooses the Grand Master has the right to impeach the Grand Master.
    • The Dominion Council, elected by popular votes every 4 years. The Dominion Council is the main law-making body of the Dominion Government. The Councilors, as they are called, vote to pass laws. The laws after being passed will be presented to the Grand Master.
      Judiciary: the Dominion Supreme Court is the highest Court in the Dominion of St Joseph. The judges are nominated by the Dominion Council and approved by the Grand Master, similar to the case of the Prime Minister, but they stay for life.


Log in to reply

Looks like your connection to NS European Union was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.