Empire Of The Romans

  • Local name, long form: Βασιλεία Ρωμαίων - Basileia Rhomeon (Ba-see-lee-ah Rho-meh-on); official name, with a rough translation being 'Kingdom of the Romans' or 'Empire of the Romans.'
    Local name, short form: Ρωμανία - Rhomania (Rho-ma-nee-ah); meaning 'Land of the Romans,' not to be confused with real-world modern Romania (Ρουμανία).
    Conventional name, long form: Empire of the Romans or (Eastern) Roman Empire
    Conventional name, short form: Romania
    Note: May be slurred by being called 'Empire of the Greeks' and 'Greece' although the Imperial authorities see the use of the term on negotiation level as an insult. Greece, however, is one of the many Themata of the Empire, and many Imperial subjects identify themselves as Greek. Noun is 'Roman' ('Rhomeos' - Rho-meh-os or 'Rhomios' - Rho-myos), adjective is 'Roman' or 'Romaic' (Rhomaicos - Rho-ma-ee-kos or Rhomeykos - Rho-meh-ee-kos).

    Capital: Constantinople - Κωνσταντινούπολη (officially New Rome - Νέα Ρώμη)
    Five biggest cities: Constantinople - Κωνσταντινούπολη (16 million), Thessaloniki - Θεσσαλονίκη (12 million), Smyrna - Σμύρνη (6 million), Adrianople - Αδριανούπολη (4 million), Trebizond - Τραπεζούντα (2 million)
    First-level political division: 25 themata (θέματα - themes), capital district

    Political system: Absolute monarchy (empire), with a functioning House of the Representatives (Vouli ton Antiprosopon - Βουλή των Αντιπροσώπων) consisting of 301 members. 150 are directly appointed by the Emperor, 150 are appointed by the emperor-appointed governors of the Themes to represent the population, and the last is the Emperor himself. The Emperor, who is the only one to hold the position for life and is unable to resign from it, has veto power over all legislation and can also impose legislation if he so desires.
    Supreme Court: Imperial Supreme Court of Constantinople, headed by the Emperor himself. Unlike the overall system, justice is functioning democratically, with the Emperor not holding any 'special' powers, even though nothing stops him from changing laws and giving more power to himself.
    Ruler: Emmanuel XIV Comnenus; see below for full title. Much unlike other monarchies, women are eligible to become reigning Empresses if no male heir is before them in line of succession.

    • Conventional: His Panhypermajestic Majesty, by the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit, the born-in-the-purple Emperor Emmanuel XIV Comnenus, Viceroy of Christ on Earth, Ruler of the World, Ruler of Time, King of the Romans, Ceasar of the Bulgars, the Serbs and the Illyrians, Despot of Morea, Duke of New Rome, Count of Peran, Chalkedon and Chrysopolis, High Judge of the Imperial Supreme Court, and Protector of Jerusalem and the True Cross;
    • Local: o Panhypersebastohypertatos eis to Onoma tou Patros, tou Yiou kai tou Ayiou Pnevmatos, Porphyrogennitos Aftokrator Emmanuel ID' Comnenos, Topotiritis tou Christou stin Yi, Kosmokrator, Chronokrator, Basileus Rhomeon, Kaisar Bulgaron, Serbon kai Illyrion, Despotis Moreos, Doukas tis Neas Romis, Komis tou Peramatos, tis Chalkedonas kai tis Chrysopoleos, Anotatos Dikastis tou Aftokratorikou Anotatou Dikastiriou, kai Prostatis ton Ierosolymon kai tou Timiou Stavrou.Ethnic groups: Greek 70%, Armenian 10%, Slavic 10%, Illyrian (Albanian) 5%, Roma 4%, Jewish 1%
      Religions: Eastern Orthodox 90% (official), Muslim 8% (5% Sunni, 3% Shi'a), Jewish 2%
      Languages: Greek 74% (official), Armenian 10%, Serbian 6%, Bulgarian 4%, Illyric (Albanian) 4%, Yiddish 2%

Log in to reply

Looks like your connection to NS European Union was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.