La Rep?blica de Costa Le?n

  • user posted image

    La Rep?blica de Costa Le?n

    Basic Information:

    _Official Name: The Republic of Costa Leon / La Rep?blica de Costa Le?n
    Common Name: Costa Leon
    Nation's National Animal: Iguana
    National motto: Para la naci?n y para el pueblo
    National anthem: Himno de La Republica
    Government Type: Parliamentary Republic
    Head of State: President Marcos Jos? Castilla
    Head of Government: Prime Minister Lucas Blovent
    Capital: Port-of-Spain
    Official language: Spanish, English
    Recognised regional languages: French
    Official religion: Roman Catholicism
    Currency: Kitra
    Population: 20 million _

  • Government

    The Republic of Costa Leon is a Parliamentary republic. According to the Constitution, the President is the head of state and responsible for foreign policy in cooperation with the cabinet. Other powers include Commander-in-Chief and appointive powers. A direct vote is used to elect the president for a term of six years and maximum two consecutive terms.

    The 300-member unicameral Parliament of Costa Leon exercises the supreme legislative authority. The parliament may alter laws, the constitution, bring about the resignation of the Council of State, and override presidential vetoes. Proportional vote in multi-seat constituencies is used to elect the parliament for a term of four years.

    The cabinet (the Costa Leon Council of State) exercises most executive powers. It is headed by the Prime Minister and includes other ministers. Parliament majority decides its composition and a vote of no confidence can be used to modify it.
    Head of State:** President Marcos Jos? Castilla
    Head of Government:Prime Minister Lucas Blovent

    Cabinet (Costa Leon Council of State)

    Minister of Internal Affairs: James Cultier
    Minister of Foreign Affairs: Salvador Sol?s
    Minister of Defence: Jos? Mart?n Salazar
    Minister of Trade and Commerce: Alice DuFonte
    Minister of Justice: Alexandre Pierpont
    Minister of Social Affairs: Antoine Delauney
    Minister of Education: German Moya
    Minister of Traffic: Leonardo Ceciliano
    Minister of Health: Aar?n Catilla
    Minister of Housing: Andr?s Ronaldo
    Minister of Regional Development: Naomi Silverman
    Minister of Environment: Robert Hoffman

    Administrative Divisions and Capitals

    The republic is made up of two territories and 15 provinces.


    1. Puerto Viejo - Puerto Viejo
    2. St. Luis - Charles Town
    3. Costa Leon Central - Palmares
    4. Panar? Central - Cartagena
    5. Port-of-Spain - Port-of-Spain (Capital of the nation too)
    6. Panar? Sur - Panar?
    7. Yucat?n - San Luis
    8. San Isidro - San Isidro
    9. Magalen - Spanish Town
    10. Port-of-France - Nevelle
    11. Castillo y Hidalgo - Nuevo Leon
    12. Mark Islands - Mark Port
    13. Logan Island - Java City
    14. British Costa Leon - York Town
    15. Costa Leon Fran?ais - Batton Rouge


    1. Nueva Espa?a- Nueva Sevilla
    2. Montevideo- Puerto San Luis

  • History

    Colonial Period

    The colonial period of Costa Leon starts in 1592. It was colonized by Spain with its first settlement in Port-of-Spain. The local indian population kept a friendly relation with the settlers. In 1600, Spain set up another colony in what is now known as Panar?. At that time, Panar? area belonged to the Takiti Indians. They felt that Spain had invaded their territory and saw it as a declaration of war. In September of 1600, a group of 20 Takiti indians raid the settlement of Monserrat (Panar?). The colonists fought back but were not able to defend themselves. The Indians destroied the young colony, killing all 50 settlers. In the begining of the next year, Spain sent 100 soldiers to destroy the Takiti indians in Panar?. The spanish were successful and began the re-establishment of Monserrat. In 1620, Spain allowed the population of Costa Leon to enslave the indian population. By 1700?s, the indian population of Costa Leon had vanished.

    The Colony of Costa Leon, by 1715 had a total population of 50,000 people, and four main cities of the colony were, Port-of-Spain, Monserrat, Cartagena, and Palmares.

    In 1720, Costa Leon passed on to French hands. The colonial capital was invaded by the French and soon enough, the entire colony was under french rule. During French rule, the capital of the colony passed from Port-of-Spain to the newly created Port-of France (now Nevelle). The French added more than double the territory of Spanish Costa Leon to the new Costa Leon. The French settlement was mostly concentrated in the modern provinces of Port-of-France, St. Luis, and Costa Leon Fran?ais.

    French rule ended in 1812, when Costa Leon passed on to british hands. Under British rule, Costa Leon changed completly. More land was added to the colony and the capital changed to St. Fran?ois, renamed Charles Town. Costa Leon basically remained quiet untill its revolution in 1912.

    1912 Revolution

    In 1912, Costa Le?n declared independence from the British Empire. The First attacks took place in Charles Town, where 1000 British troops fired upon 500 armed civilians. All 500 civilians were killed, and only 100 British troops died. In the days that followed, the cities, Port-of-Spain, Port-of-France (Nevelle), and Puerto Viejo were blockaded. All shipping to the colony was halted. A group of 200 armed citizens began raids on British Troop Stations. The number of British troops in the colony were a total of 2500 men.

    An ex-Spanish general that lived in Costa Le?n began secretly training a group of 500 men. In 4 months, he had a group of 500 men well trained and ready to attack. His first attack was on Port-of-Spain. He attacked a group of 400 British troops and was able to beat them. His casualties were of only 100 injured and killed. A few days later, he marched into Puerto Viejo. Puerto Viejo was where the most british troops were concentrated. He used hit and run tactics to run out the 1000 british troops. He lost 200 men. The British casualties were of 900 men killed or captured and 100 men retreating.

    The army of Jos? Castilla, the ex-Spanish General, continued marching toward Charles Town. Along the way, he caught up to the 100 British men that retreated from the battle of Puerto Viejo. There was a small battle. After 50 British casualties, the remaining 50 soldiers surrendered their weapons and were taken as prisoners. The army continued toward Charles Town and found that the city was being raided by another rebel group. 200 men attacked the city. These men belonged to Juan Hidalgo. Jos? and Juan met up and joined forces. They had a total of about 500 men. Charles Town had about 500 British troops in the city. The rebel groups won the battle. They forced the British general and the governor to sign a peace treaty, and a treaty that recognized Costa Le?n?s freedom.

Log in to reply

Looks like your connection to NS European Union was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.